Menu Icon Search Icon


Loop of Kon Garat

The Loop of Kon Garat is a space race sponsored each year by Tech Con Group, the largest corporation on Hebridan. The race is a time-tested method to find the most qualified pilot and the best ship, and the winner is awarded a lucrative contract with Tech Con's Deep Space Exploration Project.

The Loop has few rules other than the winner's ship must arrive first and intact, and the course consists of four distinct stages: Defense, in which ships evade weapons fire from attack drones, Navigation, which involves entering the coronasphere of the sun with intermittent disturbances of communications and navigation, Maneuverability, in which ships negotiate an asteroid field, and Speed.

The race is open to anyone, and Warrick Finn approached the SGC with an offer to share ion propulsion technology in exchange for Carter's assistance and a naquadah generator to enhance his ship's engines and his chances of winning. Carter entered the race as Warrick's co-pilot, marking the first inclusion of an alien in the 59-year history of the Loop. Ten ships entered the 59th Loop of Kon Garat, including Warrick Finn and Carter of the ship Seberus, Golon Jarlath of the ship Oran, Shibo of the ship Tritan, La'el Montrose, and Muirios. Despite deliberate sabotage by Del Tynan, designed to allow Muirios to win, the race was won by La'el Montrose, with Warrick and Carter placing third at the finish.

Cross Reference: Coyle Boron, Eamon Finn, Warrick Finn, Ardal Hadraig, Miles Hagan, Hebridan, Hebridans, Golon Jarlath, La'el Montrose, Muirios, Seberus, Serrakin, Tech Con Group, Del Tynan

Episode Reference: Space Race